The History

Home | The History

The Rana dynasty ruled the Kingdom of Nepal from 1846 until 1953, and made Prime Minister and other government positions hereditary.

Jung Bahadur was the first ruler from this dynasty. His original family name was Rana but in Nepal people mistook his Rajput title of Kunwar for his family name, Kunwar is a title denoting royal lineage used by Rajput princes in northern India. Rana rulers were titled "Shri Teen" and "Maharaja", whereas Shah kings were "Shri Panch" and "Maharajdhiraj". Both the Rana dynasty and Shah dynasty are Rajput caste in the Hindu tradition, in contrast with the native Himalayan culture which is largely Buddhist.

Jung Bahadur codified laws and modernized the state's bureaucracy. Nine Rana rulers took the hereditary office(s) of Prime Minister after Jung Bahadur established the dynasty. The property is built and run by the descendants of the longest ruling prime minister of Nepal Maharaja Chandra Shumshere Rana and his son Baber Shumshere Rana who was the Commander and Chief of the Nepali Armed Forces.